Home | TNPSC Micro Topics | Delhi Sultanate – Sayyid & Lodi Dynasty

Delhi Sultanate – Sayyid & Lodi Dynasty

Sayyid Dynasty (1414–1451)

  • Timur appointed Khizr Khan as his deputy to oversee Timurid interests in the Punjab marches.
  • Khizr Khan (1414-21) went on to seize Delhi and establish the Sayyid dynasty (1414–51).
  • The Sayyid dynasty established by Khizr Khan had four sultans ruling up to 1451.
  • The early Sayyid Sultans ruled paying tribute to Timur’s son.
  • Their rule is marked for the composing of Tarikh-iMubarak Shahi by Yahiya bin Ahmad Sirhindi.
  • By the end of their rule the empire was largely confined to the city of Delhi.

In the entire history of the Delhi Sultanate there was only one Sultan who voluntarily abdicated his throne and moved to a small town away from Delhi, where he lived for three full decades in contentment and peace. He was Alam Shah of the Sayyid dynasty. – Abraham Eraly, The Age of Wrath.

Lodi Dynasty (1451–1526 )

  • The Lodi Dynasty was established by Bahlul Lodi (1451–1489) whose reign witnessed the conquest of Sharqi Kingdom (Bengal).
  • It was his son Sikander Lodi (1489–1517) who shifted the capital from Delhi to Agra in 1504.
  • The last Lodi ruler Ibrahim Lodi was defeated by Babur in the First Battle of Panipat (1526), which resulted in the establishment of Mughal Dynasty.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *